A high-sensitivity CRP (hs-CRP) test costs $37–$83 cash at online lab services, and a standard CRP test costs about $49, each plus a $0–$6 checkout fee — prices verified September 26, 2026. The catch is that they are two different tests. The cheaper-sounding standard CRP cannot measure the low-grade inflammation that cardiovascular risk scoring depends on, and the hs-CRP is wasted if you order it while fighting a cold. Here's the full price table for both, the cutoffs that make an hs-CRP result mean something, and the two-week rule that decides when to draw it.
Published: September 26, 2026 · Prices verified September 2026 · Edited by LabTestInsight Editorial Team · How we test
Cheapest partner route for hs-CRP (price recorded Aug 2026): the C-Reactive Protein High Sensitivity Blood Test at RequestATest — $59 plus a $4 per-order service fee ($63 all-in), no fasting, no doctor visit or insurance needed. Two non-partner services list it lower; both are in the table below.
Order the hs-CRP Test — $63 All-In → Standard CRP at HealthLabs — $49 →The Numbers
Prices below are the advertised direct-pay cash prices recorded from each provider's public product page, using the same method as our quarterly Lab Test Price Index. HealthLabs, Walk-In Lab and Labcorp OnDemand were re-read on September 26, 2026; RequestATest, DiscountedLabs, Personalabs and Ulta Lab Tests are shown at the price recorded August 2, 2026 because those sites blocked automated re-verification. "All-in" adds the per-order fee each provider discloses at checkout. We list the advertised list price, not temporary sale prices.
| Provider | Test as listed | Cash price | Checkout fee | All-in | Turnaround listed | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ulta Lab Tests | hs-CRP Test | $36.95 (Aug 2026) | Not stated | $36.95 Lowest recorded | Not stated | |
| Walk-In Lab | C-Reactive Protein (CRP) Blood Test, High Sensitivity, Cardiac Risk Assessment | $45 | $6 physician fee | $51 | 3–5 business days | |
| RequestATest | C-Reactive Protein High Sensitivity (HS CRP) Blood Test | $59 (Aug 2026) | $4 service fee | $63 Lowest partner | 1–3 business days | Check Price → |
| DiscountedLabs | C-Reactive Protein — High Sensitivity hs-CRP | $66 (Aug 2026) | Not stated | $66 | Not stated | |
| Labcorp OnDemand | hs-CRP Test | $69 (list; on sale for less on the day read) | None listed | $69 | 1–4 days | |
| HealthLabs | C-Reactive Protein Test, High Sensitivity | $79 | None listed | $79 | 1–3 business days | Check Price → |
| Personalabs | C-Reactive Protein (cardiac CRP), High Sensitivity — Labcorp | $83 (Aug 2026) | Not stated | $83 | Not stated |
| Provider | Test as listed | Cash price | Checkout fee | All-in | Turnaround listed | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HealthLabs | CRP Test (C-Reactive Protein) | $49 | None listed | $49 | 1–3 business days | Check Price → |
A note on the table: HealthLabs is our default pick on most tests because it is usually cheapest; on hs-CRP it is not, and we have ranked the table by price rather than by partnership. Ulta Lab Tests and Walk-In Lab are not affiliates of this site. Quest Health was excluded because we could not read a price from a public product page on the day stated.
| Test | What it measures | Good for | Cash price range |
|---|---|---|---|
| hs-CRP (high-sensitivity) | Low-grade inflammation, accurate down to about 0.3 mg/L | Cardiovascular risk assessment alongside a lipid panel or ApoB; tracking a baseline over years | $37–$83 |
| Standard CRP | Large rises in inflammation, typically reported from about 3–10 mg/L upward | Checking for an active infection or a flare of an inflammatory condition (arthritis, IBD); monitoring treatment | $49 |
| hs-CRP drawn while sick | Whatever the cold, injury, or dental work pushed it to — often above 10 mg/L | Nothing. Repeat two weeks after recovery. | Wasted |
The practical order: for heart-risk purposes, hs-CRP from the cheapest service you trust, drawn when you have been well for two weeks, ideally in the same order as a lipid panel or ApoB test. For "do I have an infection or a flare," the $49 standard CRP at HealthLabs is the right tool and the hs-CRP is the wrong one.
Order hs-CRP at RequestATest — $59 + $4 fee →What You're Paying For
C-reactive protein is made by the liver in response to inflammation anywhere in the body. In an infection or injury it rises tenfold or more within a day or two, which is what the standard test is built to catch. The high-sensitivity assay was developed because chronic, low-grade inflammation in the artery wall, far below the range of the standard test, turned out to track with heart attack and stroke risk independently of cholesterol. That is the only reason to pay for the hs-CRP version: it reads the bottom of the scale accurately.
Current U.S. cholesterol guidelines treat an hs-CRP of 2.0 mg/L or higher as a "risk-enhancing factor," one of the things that can tip a borderline decision about starting a statin. It is not a standalone screen. Ordered on its own with no lipid panel, no blood pressure, and no family history, the number has little to act on; ordered alongside those, it sharpens the picture. The large statin trials that established the marker enrolled people with an hs-CRP of 2 mg/L or more.
Get the quarterly price-drop alerts and a re-test reminder when it's time to re-check — roughly one email a quarter.
Common Questions
Direct-pay: $37–$83 for a high-sensitivity CRP test and about $49 for a standard CRP test, each plus a $0–$6 checkout fee, verified September 26, 2026 (four providers at their August 2, 2026 prices). Ulta Lab Tests at $36.95 was the lowest price recorded; Walk-In Lab at $51 all-in was the lowest we could re-read on the day; RequestATest at $63 all-in was the lowest among the services we partner with.
Same protein, different measuring range. Standard CRP catches the big rises from infection and inflammatory disease. High-sensitivity CRP reads the low-grade inflammation linked to cardiovascular risk, accurately down to about 0.3 mg/L. Heart-risk assessment needs the hs-CRP version; an infection or flare check needs the standard one.
Below 1.0 mg/L lower risk, 1.0–3.0 mg/L average, above 3.0 mg/L higher risk. Above 10 mg/L usually means a temporary cause and should be repeated two weeks after you are well. Guidelines recommend averaging two readings two weeks apart.
No, for either version. Do avoid testing during or within two weeks of any illness, injury, or dental work. If hs-CRP is bundled with a lipid panel, follow the lipid panel's fasting instructions.
Lab tests for medical care are generally HSA/FSA-eligible (IRS Publication 502) — check with your plan administrator. HealthLabs accepts HSA/FSA cards at checkout; for other services, pay normally and submit the itemized receipt. Our HSA/FSA lab testing guide covers the mechanics.
Keep Reading
Two tests, two questions. Draw the hs-CRP only when you have been well for two weeks. Prices verified September 26, 2026 and re-checked quarterly.
Order hs-CRP at RequestATest — $59 + $4 fee →No fasting · No separate checkout fee · No insurance or doctor visit required · Standard CRP: $49 at HealthLabs