How Much Does a Lipoprotein(a) Test Cost? 2026 Cash Prices

A standalone lipoprotein(a) test costs $45–$61 cash at online lab services, plus a $0–$6 checkout fee — all five prices verified September 10, 2026. No fasting at any of them. And unlike almost every other blood test on this site, most people only need to order this one once: Lp(a) is set by your genes and barely moves over a lifetime. Here's the full price table, what the number means, and why doctors so often leave it off the panel.

Published: September 10, 2026 · Prices verified September 2026 · Edited by LabTestInsight Editorial Team · How we test

Cheapest all-in route (Sept 2026): the Lp(a) Test at HealthLabs — $49, no fasting, no separate checkout fee, drawn at Quest or Labcorp, no doctor visit or insurance needed.

Order the $49 Lp(a) Test → Or RequestATest ($49–$61) →

Lp(a) Test Prices Compared: Advertised Cash Prices (September 2026)

Prices below are the advertised direct-pay cash prices recorded from each provider's public product page on September 10, 2026, using the same method as our quarterly Lab Test Price Index. "All-in" adds the per-order fee each provider discloses at checkout. All five are drawn at Quest or Labcorp patient service centers.

Standalone lipoprotein(a) test

Provider Test as listed Cash price Checkout fee All-in Turnaround listed
HealthLabs Lp(a) Test $49 None listed $49 Lowest all-in 1–3 business days Check Price →
Quest Health Lipoprotein(a)/Lp(a) Test $45 $6 physician fee $51 Not stated
RequestATest Lipoprotein(a) Blood Test $49 (Lab 1) / $61 (Lab 2) $4 service fee $53–$65 2–5 business days Check Price →
Walk-In Lab Lipoprotein (a) Blood Test $49 $6 physician fee $55 Not stated
Labcorp OnDemand Lp(a) Blood Test $49 None listed $49 Not stated

Promotions seen on the verification date: Labcorp OnDemand showed $36.75 under a September 25%-off sale, and Walk-In Lab had a 15% code active. We list sticker prices because promotions expire; if one is running when you order, take it. Ulta Lab Tests is excluded because its site blocked automated price verification.

The cardiac add-ons most panels skip, priced together

Combination Why Cash price at HealthLabs
Lp(a) alone The one-time genetic check. If you have never had it, this is the gap. $49
Lp(a) + ApoB Particle-level risk: the inherited particle plus the total atherogenic particle count. $108
Lp(a) + ApoB + lipid panel Everything a preventive cardiologist typically asks for on a first visit. $137
Quest Advanced Heart Health Panel Bundled alternative with ApoB, fractionation, hs-CRP, Lp-PLA2 — but no Lp(a). $215 + $6 (at Quest)

Already know your Lp(a)? Then you don't need this page — the number doesn't change. If you don't, it is the cheapest question about your heart you can answer this week.

Order at HealthLabs — $49 →

Why Lp(a) Isn't on Your Cholesterol Test, and Why That Matters

Lipoprotein(a) is an LDL-like particle with an extra protein, apolipoprotein(a), bolted on. That extra protein makes it stickier in artery walls and more likely to promote clotting, which is why an elevated level is independently associated with heart attack, stroke, and aortic valve stenosis. Roughly one adult in five carries a level high enough to matter.

Two things make it unusual among blood tests. First, the level is about 90 percent inherited and barely changes with diet, exercise, or statins, so a single measurement tells you most of what you will ever learn from it. Second, a standard lipid panel does not include it, and many physicians never order it unless there is a family history of early heart disease. That combination — important, stable, and routinely skipped — is exactly the situation where a $49 direct-pay test earns its keep.

Lab prices change quarterly. We track 136 of them so you don't have to.

Get the quarterly price-drop alerts and a re-test reminder when it's time to re-check — roughly one email a quarter.

You're in — the first email lands within a day. Everything on this page stays free either way.

Roughly one email a quarter. No sign-up required for anything on this site. We don't sell or share addresses; see our privacy policy. Unsubscribe in one click.

Lipoprotein(a) Test Cost FAQ

How much does a lipoprotein(a) test cost without insurance?

Direct-pay: $45–$61 for the standalone test plus a $0–$6 checkout fee, verified September 10, 2026. HealthLabs at $49 with no fee was the lowest all-in price; Quest has the lowest sticker at $45 but adds a $6 physician fee. Through a doctor, cost depends on whether it is ordered with a qualifying reason and how much of your deductible remains.

Do I need to fast for an Lp(a) test?

No. None of the five providers require fasting. RequestATest notes that alcohol, aspirin, niacin, and estrogen supplements can distort the result, so mention those when you discuss it with a clinician.

How often should I test lipoprotein(a)?

Usually once. The level is mostly genetic and stable across adult life. Repeat it only after a significant change such as menopause, kidney disease, or starting a therapy that affects Lp(a), or if your clinician asks.

What is a high Lp(a) level?

The AHA/ACC use 50 mg/dL (about 125 nmol/L) as the risk-enhancing threshold; European guidance treats 30–50 mg/dL as a gray zone. Use the reference range on your report, since labs differ in units, and discuss anything elevated with a clinician.

Can I use HSA or FSA funds for an Lp(a) test?

Lab tests for medical care are generally HSA/FSA-eligible (IRS Publication 502) — check with your plan administrator. HealthLabs accepts HSA/FSA cards at checkout; for other services, pay normally and submit the itemized receipt. Our HSA/FSA lab testing guide covers the mechanics.

Related Lab Test Guides

One Test. One Time. $49.

Same Quest and Labcorp draw sites your doctor uses, no fasting, and a number that will still be true in twenty years. Prices verified September 10, 2026 and re-checked quarterly.

Order the $49 Lp(a) Test at HealthLabs →

No fasting · No separate checkout fee · No insurance or doctor visit required