A hepatitis C antibody test costs $24–$55 cash at online lab services, and a version that automatically confirms a positive with an RNA test costs $59–$69, each plus a $0–$6 checkout fee — all prices verified September 14, 2026. No fasting at any of them. The CDC wants every adult screened once, most people have never been, and the infection is now curable in 8 to 12 weeks. Here's the full price table, which version to order, and what a positive antibody result actually means.
Published: September 14, 2026 · Prices verified September 2026 · Edited by LabTestInsight Editorial Team · How we test
Cheapest all-in route (Sept 2026): the Hepatitis C Antibody Test at HealthLabs — $24, no fasting, no separate checkout fee, drawn at Quest or Labcorp, no doctor visit or insurance needed.
Order the $24 Hep C Test → Or Hep A + B + C Panel ($72) →The Numbers
Prices below are the advertised direct-pay cash prices recorded from each provider's public product page on September 14, 2026, using the same method as our quarterly Lab Test Price Index. "All-in" adds the per-order fee each provider discloses at checkout. All four are drawn at Quest or Labcorp patient service centers.
| Provider | Test as listed | Cash price | Checkout fee | All-in | Turnaround listed | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HealthLabs | Hepatitis C (HCV) Antibody Test | $24 | None listed | $24 Lowest all-in | 1–3 business days | Check Price → |
| Walk-In Lab | Hepatitis C Antibody Blood Test | $55 | $6 physician fee | $61 | Not stated |
| Provider | Test as listed | Cash price | Checkout fee | All-in | Turnaround listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Walk-In Lab | Hepatitis C Antibody Blood Test with Reflex on Positives | $59 | $6 physician fee | $65 | Not stated |
| Quest Health | Hepatitis C Test with Confirmation | $62 | $6 physician fee | $68 | 1–2 business days |
| Labcorp OnDemand | Hepatitis C Test (antibody, reflex to RNA PCR) | $69 | None listed | $69 | 1–3 days |
Excluded on the verification date: RequestATest and Ulta Lab Tests, because both sites blocked automated price verification. We list only prices we could read from a public product page on the day stated. Walk-In Lab lists a 72-hour biotin hold before its hepatitis C tests; the other providers list no preparation.
| Route | When it makes sense | Cash price |
|---|---|---|
| Antibody only (HealthLabs) | No known exposure; the one-time screen the CDC asks every adult to have. | $24 |
| Antibody + reflex RNA (Walk-In Lab, Quest, Labcorp) | Known risk, a past positive, or you want one draw to settle it. | $65–$69 |
| Antibody, then standalone RNA if positive (HealthLabs) | Cheapest if you expect a negative; most expensive if you don't. | $24, then $239 |
| Hepatitis A + B + C panel (HealthLabs) | Immunity status for A and B plus the C screen, before travel or a new job. | $72 |
The practical order: if you have never been tested and have no specific risk, the $24 antibody screen is enough, and a negative closes the question. If you have a reason to expect a positive, pay for the reflex version so the RNA confirmation runs on the same tube.
Order at HealthLabs — $24 →What You're Paying For
Hepatitis C is a blood-borne virus that infects the liver. Roughly 2 million people in the United States are living with it, and about 40 percent of them do not know. The infection is usually silent for years before it causes cirrhosis or liver cancer, which is why the CDC recommends a one-time screen for every adult and a screen during each pregnancy, regardless of risk factors. Since 2014, oral antiviral tablets have cured more than 95 percent of treated cases in 8 to 12 weeks with few side effects.
Testing runs in two steps. The antibody test asks whether your immune system has ever seen the virus; it is cheap, sensitive, and the right first step for most people. The RNA test asks whether the virus is in your blood right now. About one in four people who are infected clear the virus without treatment, and everyone who has been cured keeps the antibody for life, so an antibody-positive result must be followed by an RNA test before anyone calls it a current infection.
Get the quarterly price-drop alerts and a re-test reminder when it's time to re-check — roughly one email a quarter.
Common Questions
Direct-pay: $24–$55 for the antibody screen and $59–$69 for a version with automatic RNA confirmation, each plus a $0–$6 checkout fee, verified September 14, 2026. HealthLabs at $24 with no fee was the lowest all-in price. Through a doctor, cost depends on your deductible and whether the office visit is billed separately.
No known exposure and a one-time screen: the $24 antibody test. Known risk, a past positive, or you want one visit to settle it: the reflex version at $65–$69, which runs the RNA confirmation on the same sample. A standalone RNA test ordered later costs $239.
That you were infected at some point. About a quarter of people clear the virus on their own and anyone cured keeps the antibody for life, so only an RNA test confirms a current infection. Positive antibody with detectable RNA: active infection, treatable. Positive antibody with no RNA: resolved.
The CDC recommends every adult aged 18 and older be tested at least once, everyone who is pregnant be tested in each pregnancy, and anyone with ongoing risk be tested periodically. Most chronic infections are silent, and treatment cures more than 95 percent of cases.
Lab tests for medical care are generally HSA/FSA-eligible (IRS Publication 502) — check with your plan administrator. HealthLabs accepts HSA/FSA cards at checkout; for other services, pay normally and submit the itemized receipt. Our HSA/FSA lab testing guide covers the mechanics.
Keep Reading
Same Quest and Labcorp draw sites your doctor uses, no fasting, and an answer to a question the CDC wants every adult to settle. Prices verified September 14, 2026 and re-checked quarterly.
Order the $24 Hepatitis C Test at HealthLabs →No fasting · No separate checkout fee · No insurance or doctor visit required