How Much Does a Liver Function Test Cost? 2026 Cash Prices

A hepatic function panel costs $32–$85 cash at online lab services, an ALT-only test about $29, and a comprehensive metabolic panel $23–$44, each plus a $0–$6 checkout fee — prices verified September 26, 2026. The detail most price lists skip: the CMP already contains six of the seven liver markers on the dedicated panel, plus your kidney and glucose numbers, for about the same money. Here's the full price table for all three, what each one actually contains, and how a CMP plus a $28 blood count lets you calculate the liver fibrosis score that clinicians use, without paying $79 for the branded version.

Published: September 26, 2026 · Prices verified September 2026 · Edited by LabTestInsight Editorial Team · How we test

Best value for a first look (Sept 2026): the Comprehensive Metabolic Panel at HealthLabs — $39, all six liver enzymes and proteins plus kidney function and glucose, no separate checkout fee, no doctor visit or insurance needed. Fasting required. If you want the dedicated liver panel without fasting, HealthLabs sells it for $49; Walk-In Lab (not a partner) lists it for $38 all-in.

Order the $39 CMP → Liver Panel Only — $49, no fasting →

Liver Function Test Prices Compared: Advertised Cash Prices (September 2026)

Prices below are the advertised direct-pay cash prices recorded from each provider's public product page, using the same method as our quarterly Lab Test Price Index. HealthLabs, Walk-In Lab and Labcorp OnDemand were re-read on September 26, 2026; CMP prices for RequestATest, DiscountedLabs, Personalabs and Ulta Lab Tests are shown as recorded August 2, 2026 because those sites blocked automated re-verification. "All-in" adds the per-order fee each provider discloses at checkout.

Hepatic function panel (ALT, AST, ALP, bilirubin, albumin, total protein)

Provider Test as listed Cash price Checkout fee All-in Turnaround listed
Walk-In Lab Hepatic Function (Liver) Panel Blood Test (7 markers) $32 $6 physician fee $38 Lowest all-in 2–3 business days
HealthLabs Liver Function Test (LFT) $49 None listed $49 Partner · no fasting 1–3 business days Check Price →
Labcorp OnDemand Liver Health Test (liver markers + FIB-4 fibrosis score) $79 None listed $79 Not stated
Walk-In Lab Liver Profile 1, Baseline (adds GGT, globulin, cholesterol) $85 $6 physician fee $91 1–2 business days

Comprehensive metabolic panel (the liver markers plus kidney, glucose, electrolytes)

Provider Test as listed Cash price Checkout fee All-in Turnaround listed
Ulta Lab Tests Comprehensive Metabolic Panel Test — CMP $22.95 (Aug 2026) Not stated $22.95 Lowest recorded Not stated
DiscountedLabs CMP Panel — Comprehensive Metabolic Panel $34 (Aug 2026) Not stated $34 Not stated
Walk-In Lab Comprehensive Metabolic Panel (CMP-14) with eGFR $30 (Aug 2026) $6 physician fee $36 Not stated
HealthLabs Comprehensive Metabolic Panel (CMP) $39 None listed $39 Lowest partner 1–3 business days Check Price →
RequestATest Comprehensive Metabolic Panel Blood Test $39 (Aug 2026) $4 service fee $43 1–3 business days Check Price →
Personalabs Comprehensive Metabolic Panel (CMP 14) — Labcorp $44 (Aug 2026) Not stated $44 Not stated

Single liver enzyme

Provider Test as listed Cash price Checkout fee All-in Turnaround listed
HealthLabs ALT Blood Test (SGPT) $29 None listed $29 1–3 business days Check Price →

Excluded on the verification date: Quest Health, and the dedicated hepatic panels at RequestATest, Ulta Lab Tests, DiscountedLabs and Personalabs, because we could not read a price from a public product page on the day stated. Ulta Lab Tests and Walk-In Lab are not affiliates of this site. Labcorp OnDemand's $79 test is listed as the page describes it: liver markers plus a platelet-based FIB-4 calculation.

Which test answers which question

Test What it contains Good for Cash price range
Comprehensive metabolic panel ALT, AST, ALP, total bilirubin, albumin, total protein + glucose, calcium, electrolytes, BUN, creatinine A first look at liver health that also covers kidneys and blood sugar; the best value for most people $23–$44
Hepatic function panel The six markers above plus direct bilirubin Tracking a known liver condition; when a clinician wants direct bilirubin; no fasting needed $38–$91
ALT only One enzyme Re-checking a single mildly raised ALT a few weeks later $29
CMP + CBC (bought together) Everything in the CMP plus platelets Lets you calculate a FIB-4 fibrosis score yourself (age, AST, ALT, platelets); the same inputs as the $79 branded test $67 at HealthLabs (two orders)

The practical order: a CMP for a first look, fasting. If ALT or AST comes back mildly high, wait three to four weeks, avoid alcohol, hard exercise, and unnecessary supplements, and repeat the $29 ALT. If it is still raised, add a CBC so a FIB-4 can be calculated, and bring both results to a clinician — that is the point at which imaging or hepatitis testing gets decided, not before.

Order the CMP at HealthLabs — $39 →

What the Seven Markers Mean, Why a Mild ALT Rise Is Usually Fat Not Damage, and the FIB-4 Shortcut

"Liver function test" is a misnomer that has stuck. Most of the markers on the panel measure injury, not function: ALT and AST are enzymes that leak out of liver cells when they are stressed or dying, and alkaline phosphatase and bilirubin rise when bile flow is obstructed. Only albumin and total protein reflect what the liver is actually producing, and they fall late, in established disease. A normal panel is reassuring; a mildly abnormal one is a prompt to look further, not a diagnosis.

The single most common reason for a raised ALT in the United States is fat in the liver tied to weight, insulin resistance, or type 2 diabetes, now called metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease (MASLD). It affects roughly a third of adults, most of whom have never had a liver test. That is also why the CMP is the better first purchase: the same $39 draw returns the fasting glucose that sits upstream of the problem. Clinicians increasingly use a lower cut-off for a "normal" ALT than many lab reports print, around 30 U/L for men and 25 for women, so a value the report flags as normal can still be worth a conversation if it sits at the top of the range.

Lab prices change quarterly. We track 136 of them so you don't have to.

Get the quarterly price-drop alerts and a re-test reminder when it's time to re-check — roughly one email a quarter.

You're in — the first email lands within a day. Everything on this page stays free either way.

Roughly one email a quarter. No sign-up required for anything on this site. We don't sell or share addresses; see our privacy policy. Unsubscribe in one click.

Liver Function Test Cost FAQ

How much does a liver function test cost without insurance?

Direct-pay: $32–$85 for a hepatic function panel, about $29 for ALT alone, and $23–$44 for a CMP that contains the same liver markers, each plus a $0–$6 checkout fee, verified September 26, 2026 (some CMP prices from August 2, 2026). Walk-In Lab at $38 all-in was the cheapest dedicated panel; HealthLabs' $39 CMP was the cheapest partner route to the liver markers.

Is a comprehensive metabolic panel the same as a liver function test?

Nearly. The CMP has six of the seven hepatic-panel markers (everything except direct bilirubin) plus glucose, calcium, electrolytes, and kidney markers. For a first look it gives more for the same money; the dedicated panel is for tracking a known condition or when direct bilirubin is specifically wanted.

What causes a high ALT on a liver test?

Most often fat in the liver linked to weight or blood sugar (MASLD), then alcohol, medications such as statins and acetaminophen, supplements such as green tea extract, and hepatitis B or C. Hard exercise raises AST. Repeat a mild rise after a few weeks before drawing conclusions.

Do I need to fast before a liver function test?

Not for the hepatic panel or ALT alone. A CMP usually requires 8–12 hours of fasting because it includes glucose. Skip heavy exercise for 48 hours before either.

Can I use HSA or FSA funds for a liver function test?

Lab tests for medical care are generally HSA/FSA-eligible (IRS Publication 502) — check with your plan administrator. HealthLabs accepts HSA/FSA cards at checkout; for other services, pay normally and submit the itemized receipt. Our HSA/FSA lab testing guide covers the mechanics.

Related Lab Test Guides

For a First Look at Your Liver, Buy the $39 Panel That Also Checks Your Kidneys.

The CMP carries six of the seven liver markers plus glucose and kidney function. Fast 8–12 hours. Prices verified September 26, 2026 and re-checked quarterly.

Order the $39 CMP at HealthLabs →

No separate checkout fee · No insurance or doctor visit required · Prefer no fasting? Liver panel only, $49