A 4th-generation HIV antigen/antibody test costs $49–$105 cash at online lab services, and the HIV RNA early-detection test costs about $129, each plus a $0–$6 checkout fee — prices verified September 26, 2026. The right test depends on one number: how many days since the exposure you are worried about. Test too early and a negative means nothing. Here's the full price table, the window periods for each test type, what happens automatically if a result is reactive, and the free alternatives that exist for anyone who needs them.
Published: September 26, 2026 · Prices verified September 2026 · Edited by LabTestInsight Editorial Team · How we test
Cheapest all-in route (Sept 2026): the HIV 4th Generation Duo Antigen/Antibody Test at HealthLabs — $49, no separate checkout fee, no fasting, no doctor visit or insurance needed, confirmatory testing included if the screen is reactive.
Order the $49 HIV Test →The Numbers
Prices below are the advertised direct-pay cash prices recorded from each provider's public product page, using the same method as our quarterly Lab Test Price Index. HealthLabs, Walk-In Lab and Labcorp OnDemand were re-read on September 26, 2026; RequestATest and Personalabs are shown at the price recorded August 2, 2026 because both sites blocked automated re-verification. "All-in" adds the per-order fee each provider discloses at checkout.
| Provider | Test as listed | Cash price | Checkout fee | All-in | Turnaround listed | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HealthLabs | HIV 4th Generation Duo Antigen/Antibody Test | $49 | None listed | $49 Lowest all-in | 1–3 business days | Check Price → |
| Walk-In Lab | HIV-1/2 Antigen/Antibody Preliminary Blood Test (4th generation) | $55 | $6 physician fee | $61 | Not stated | |
| RequestATest | HIV 1 & 2 4th Gen Antigen/Antibody Blood Test | $69 (Aug 2026) | $4 service fee | $73 | 1–3 business days | Check Price → |
| Labcorp OnDemand | HIV Test (antigen/antibody screen with reflex) | $99 | None listed | $99 | 1–4 days | |
| Personalabs | HIV Screening Test (4th Generation) — Quest | $105 (Aug 2026) | Not stated | $105 | Not stated |
| Provider | Test as listed | Cash price | Checkout fee | All-in | Turnaround listed | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HealthLabs | HIV RNA Blood Test | $129 | None listed | $129 | 1–3 business days | Check Price → |
Excluded on the verification date: Quest Health and Ulta Lab Tests, because we could not read a price from a public product page on the day stated. Labcorp OnDemand's $99 test is listed as an HIV screen with automatic confirmatory follow-up; its page does not name the generation, so we have listed it as the page describes it. We list only prices we could read ourselves.
| Test | What it detects | Reliable from (days after exposure) | Cash price range |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIV RNA (nucleic acid) | The virus's genetic material — the earliest signal | 10–33 days | $129 |
| 4th-generation antigen/antibody (lab blood draw) | p24 antigen (early) plus HIV-1/HIV-2 antibodies (later) | 18–45 days | $49–$105 |
| Antibody-only (rapid oral-fluid or finger-stick home kits) | Antibodies only — the slowest signal to appear | 23–90 days | About $40 (pharmacy) or free (health department) |
The practical order: if the exposure was more than 45 days ago, or you are testing as routine screening, the $49 4th-generation test is the right answer and the RNA test buys nothing. If the exposure was 2 to 6 weeks ago and you need to know now, the RNA test at $129 can answer up to three weeks sooner. Either way, a negative before the window closes is not a final answer — repeat at 45 days.
Order at HealthLabs — $49 →What You're Paying For
HIV tests look for evidence of the virus in three stages. Viral RNA appears first, within about ten days of infection. The p24 antigen, a viral protein, becomes detectable a few days later and then fades as the immune system responds. Antibodies arrive last, typically three to twelve weeks in. A 4th-generation test catches both the antigen and the antibodies, which is why the CDC recommends it as the standard laboratory screen: it closes most of the gap the older antibody-only tests left open, at a fraction of the RNA test's price.
The CDC recommends that everyone aged 13 to 64 be tested at least once, and that people with ongoing risk test at least annually. People taking PrEP are tested every three months as part of the prescription. For routine screening in any of those situations, the cheapest 4th-generation test is the right purchase; the RNA test earns its premium only when an exposure is recent and the answer cannot wait.
Get the quarterly price-drop alerts and a re-test reminder when it's time to re-check — roughly one email a quarter.
Common Questions
Direct-pay: $49–$105 for a 4th-generation antigen/antibody blood test and about $129 for an HIV RNA test, each plus a $0–$6 checkout fee, verified September 26, 2026 (RequestATest and Personalabs at their August 2, 2026 prices). HealthLabs at $49 with no fee was the lowest all-in price. Free testing is available at most health departments.
RNA test: 10–33 days. 4th-generation antigen/antibody blood test: 18–45 days. Antibody-only rapid and home tests: 23–90 days. A negative result before the window closes should be repeated at the end of it.
A reactive screen is automatically confirmed by an HIV-1/HIV-2 differentiation assay, with an RNA test if that is indeterminate. Direct-pay services include or price this reflex testing on the product page. A confirmed diagnosis is reportable to the state health department in every state, and every service we list provides or refers to physician follow-up.
The oral-fluid home test is antibody-only with a 90-day window and lower sensitivity in early infection. A 4th-generation lab draw detects infection weeks earlier and is the CDC's recommended laboratory screen. Mail-in finger-stick kits are lab-processed but usually antibody-only.
Lab tests for medical care are generally HSA/FSA-eligible (IRS Publication 502) — check with your plan administrator. HealthLabs accepts HSA/FSA cards at checkout; for other services, pay normally and submit the itemized receipt. Our HSA/FSA lab testing guide covers the mechanics.
Keep Reading
4th-generation antigen/antibody, reliable from 45 days after exposure, confirmatory testing included. Prices verified September 26, 2026 and re-checked quarterly.
Order the $49 HIV Test at HealthLabs →No fasting · No separate checkout fee · No insurance or doctor visit required · Recent exposure? See the RNA test above